being a yellow cake woman

encouragement

I once heard a sermon where the speaker spoke about “being a yellow cake woman.” the speaker used his sweet mom to describe to all the young men & women in the audience what a “yellow cake woman” was. the speaker spoke kind words about his mom, explaining that his mom was the definition of a proverbs 31 women, a faithful wife & mom still making time to show the love of Christ to others by inviting them into her home & offering them some yellow cake. this speaker spoke about how he was able to watch his mom humbly serve alongside her husband as they did amazing things together for the kingdom.

I left that message a bit troubled. although the speaker’s intentions were not to burden young ladies with the thought that to be that kind of woman they had to be married with a family, that is the lie the enemy whispered in my ear as I left that night.

the enemy told me that night that I would never be able to serve Christ to the fullest unless I was married. the enemy told me that I would never be able to be a proverbs 31 woman unless my relationship status went from single to married. the enemy told me that there would be no opportunities to share yellow cake with others unless I had a family and home of my own.

today I look back & I am saddened by the fact that I left that message so discouraged & believing those lies.

ever since that day I have been learning what it looks like to be a yellow cake woman in every season of life. for a while it looked like sharing coffee in a dorm room or taking a drive with friends, offering them a listening ear. today it looks like baking some gooey bars for a bunch of boys coming over tonight that love my future husband to death.

the Lord is so sweet & I am thankful that in ten days I get to marry the man God has for me to serve along side. but, I am so so so thankful the Lord showed me the truth that I did not have to wait to be a yellow cake woman until I had a ring on my finger or get married. I am thankful for the ways that the Lord showed me I can be that kind of woman NOW.

I say all that to sweetly remind you that Christ is capable and so willing to use you. your yellow cake ministry starts NOW 🙂

much love- Haley Nicole


p. s. here is my favorite dessert recipe of all time! 👇🏼

Leave a comment